Project 3: Photodesign

P3AshleyOlsen

  1. Description: Using good photography skills and editing skills to make a poster using an original picture.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I started this process by going to the Gardens on the BYUI campus and took pictures of different kinds of flowers to experiment with light, colors and textures. After taking a few pictures I realized that I loved the contrast between pink/red and green so I started focusing on those two colors. I experimented with these flowers for a while and was finally able to get a shoot with the light coming through just the way I liked it. I then used Photoshop to adjust the levels, saturation, sharpness and color balance to brighten it up just a little. I didn’t have to edit very much which helped a lot. I then used photoshop to add the text and the color scheme. I used the eye dropper tool to get the exact shades that I focused on which helped tie in the whole design.
  3. Message: I wanted my message to simple and beautiful. I used flowers because they are naturally beautiful and everyone can relate to them.
  4. Audience: I felt that my audience was geared more towards those who love simple and inspiring quotes.
  5. Top Thing Learned: The top thing I learned was how to use the different layers in photoshop to edit my project.
  6. Color scheme and color names: Complementary: red and green
  7. Title Font Name & Category: Sans Serif: Tamil MN Regular, Decorative: Walker on the Moon Light Regular
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: Sans Serif: Tamil MN Regular
  9. Thumbnail of original, unedited image inserted
  10. Date and location you took the photo(s): May 17, 2016: BYUI Gardens IMG_5682
2 thoughts on “Project 3: Photodesign

  1. emilyannarussell

    Hi Ashley, I absolutely love your photo design project. I was looking at it in class today and really admired your photo, it’s beautiful! The text that you included is not overused, and I think that the script really compliments the other font very nicely and provides a lot of contrast. Overall, very well done.

    You should check out Haley’s post, she did a great job.
    https://haleyskinnerblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/21/photodesign-project/comment-page-1/#comment-11

    Like

Leave a Reply

