Project 8: Brochure

  1. Description: Tri-fold brochure promoting my flower arrangement company
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): I started by setting up two documents in InDesign, one for the front of the brochure and then one for the inside. I used the rulers to divide the documents into three equal sections so I knew where I would be folding each section. I then created my logo in Illustrator and I designed it to help represent my company. I chose the colors pink and green because they are complementary colors and they represent flowers well. I then searched for images on Unsplash to find the ones that I felt would help catch the attention of my audience while also allowing my audience to know exactly what my business was just by looking at the brochure. After I found the four images that I wanted to use, I played around with the placement of them until I found where I thought they looked the best. I chose to cut out part of the peonies in the middle section of my brochure to add more dimension and so I could do a text wrap around it. I then added I then wrote my body copy to explain my company and why people should use us for their special events. I then placed the logo on the right side of the cover so that when I folded my brochure the logo would be the first thing that the audience reads. I changed the fonts and colors of the body copy and title to match the rest of the logo.
  3. Message: My floral arrangement company provides arrangements for all occasions
  4. Audience: Anyone who is looking for a flower arrangement
  5. Top Thing Learned: How to do a successful wrap text
  6. Color scheme and color names: Complementary – Green and Pink
  7. Title Font Name & Category: Always in my Heart – script
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: Malayalam Sangam MN – sans serif
  9. Word Count of copy: 251 words
  10. Thumbnails of Images used:
  11. Sources (Links to images on original websites)

    1. https://unsplash.com/photos/7bVMdNYzH_8
    2. https://unsplash.com/photos/u8tZwGAH6w8
    3. https://unsplash.com/photos/SWzLDZqfG9I
    4. https://unsplash.com/photos/8dmtbpJJJ7k

 

2 thoughts on “Project 8: Brochure

  1. sidney wilson

    Hey Ashley! I just love your work. I think brochure has a modern vibe to it and looks chic and cool. I like the full span of the image of the flowers on the whole design it unifies it well. I also like how you included your text wrap because I think it is kinda hard to have one without it being cheesy but I think it flows well with the design and is creative. Overall nice job!

    Check out my project: https://sidneywilsonblog.wordpress.com/2016/07/10/project-8-brochure/

    Like

    • kelleyperkinson

      This is adorable! I love the flowers you chose and the patterns that were embedded throughout the project! I think the color scheme is very warm and inviting and I feel like I would definitely come to your shop! I love flowers too, so that would make it easier! Great job! Here’s my link: https://kelleyperkinson.wordpress.com

      Like

Leave a Reply

