Depth: Shallow and Deep

Shallow Depth of Field

ashleyolsen-flower

  1. Title: Flower
  2. September 28, 2016, 3:20pm, Outside of Spori Building
  3. Focal Length: 33mm
  4. F/stop: 5.0
  5. Shutter speed: 1/100
  6. Canon Rebel XS

I took this picture outside of the Spori Building when we went out to take pictures during class. I got really close to the flower and used my manual focus to focus on the middle of the flower. I also made sure the flower was the only flower in the picture so that it would stand out more. Having the background plant white really helped give the picture more detail while keeping the focus on the flower. I made very minor edits by changing the brightness and contrast a little bit.

 

ashleyolsen-duck

  1. Title: The Duck
  2. October 4, 2016, 7:00pm, Nature Park
  3. Focal Length: 50mm
  4. F/stop: 2.2
  5. Shutter speed: 1/50
  6. Canon Rebel XS

I took this picture at Nature Park. I really wanted to focus on the head part of the duck, especially the eye so I took quite a few pictures since ducks don’t like to stand still for more than a few seconds. My friend stood above my holding the food so that the duck would look at me and I was able to get this picture which was the exact picture I was hoping for. I really love how the only part of the duck that is in focus is the eye because it really draws you in since it’s dark but the duck is white. I edited the brightness and contrast a little bit to make the colors stand out a little bit.

 

Deep Depth of Field

ashleyolsen-trees

  1. Title: Trees against the storm
  2. October 2, 2016, 4:15pm, University Gateway Apartments
  3. Focal Length: 55mm
  4. F/stop: 9
  5. Shutter speed: 1/50
  6. Canon Rebel XS

I took this picture standing on the balcony of my apartment. I loved how the dark trees against the dark clouds looked. I felt that it was good contrast with the colors and textures of the trees and clouds which helps draw your eyes in. I focused on the tops of the trees since they road was right in front of them so that helped me get the rule of thirds in the picture. I edited the brightness and contrast, as well as the curves to make the colors and textures stand out more.

 

ashleyolsen-river

  1. Title: The River
  2. October 4, 2016, 7:15pm, Nature Park
  3. Focal Length: 50mm
  4. F/stop: 22
  5. Shutter speed: 8 sec.
  6. Canon Rebel XS

I took this at Nature Park after I took the picture of the ducks. I loved the different colors and textures and I’m happy that they were all able to be in focus. I had my shutter speed up to 8 seconds because it was getting dark so I wanted to let as much light in as possible. I didn’t have a tripod with me so I placed my camera on my car and held the camera still as it took the picture. I only edited the contrast because the colors were already so pretty and I wanted to bright the textures out just a little bit more.

 

2 thoughts on “Depth: Shallow and Deep

Leave a Reply

