Up Close and Personal

 

1. Seed

ashleyolsen-seed

For this picture, I angled the dragonfruit right now to the light so that the pink fruit part was very light and bright. I then got really close and focus on the seeds, particularly the one that is the most in focus, and then took the picture. I did take me a couple tries to get the lightening how I wanted it but I love how this turned out. I only had to edit a little bit with the brightness and contrast in Photoshop.

2. Purple flower

ashleyolsen-purpleflower

This picture took me the longest to get because I had to stand very still and focus on the tiny part of the inside of the flower. I also had to have the light held up very close so I had to have a friend to hold the light. I also had to adjust my camera settings a few times because it was either too dark or too light so it took me a couple minutes to find the right settings. I used Photoshop to adjust the brightness and contrast, as well as the levels.

3. Coin

ashleyolsen-coin

For this picture, I stood the coin up again the table and had the light shinning from the left side onto it. I then got really close and took the picture focusing on the details and textures of the coin because they are so different and interesting. I then opened it in photoshop and adjusted the levels and contrast to make it a little darker.

4. Stem

ashleyolsen-stemanddrop

For this photo, I put a couple drops of water of the stem of a pepper and then moved the light so that it was behind the stem, but towards the right side of the stem. I then placed a lime behind it to add some color. I think got really close, made sure the drop was in focus and then took the picture. I really like how this picture turned out and how the stem and water drop is on the line of thirds. I used Photoshop to adjust the levels, brightness and contrast.

5. Lily

ashleyolsen-lilydrop

I added a couple drops of water onto the anther and then had the light shining to the side so that the main focus was on the droplets so that they would stand out. I didn’t expect it to turn out the way it did but I like how the droplets look like they are part of the flower. It’s a little interesting looking but I think it adds some cool texture and it helps catch your eye. I adjusted the levels and contrast in Photoshop to make it a little darker.

6. Petal

ashleyolsen-lily

This is my favorite picture that I took. I love the colors, the contrasts and I love all the water droplets on the petal, especially the one dripping off. I also love how the water looks like glitter because it adds a really cool affect and it really catches your attention. I didn’t have to edit this one much, I just added a little brightness and contrast.

 

Leave a Reply

