Portraits

This week was portraits and I will admit, I had a hard time getting pictures that I loved. Most of my pictures turned out great but some, not so great. It was fun learning how to use my camera to take better pictures and it was great focusing on portraits.

Side composition:

ashleyolsen-amy2

For this image, I had my sister stand in front of some trees by my apartment. I had her angle herself so that she wasn’t standing to close to the trees. I edited the picture by adjusting the brightness and contrast and I also sharpened her eyes.

Head and Shoulders

ashleyolsen-amy

For this picture, I had her positioned in the same position as above, however, I had her look over her shoulder. I love how it turned out! I edited it by adjusting the brightness, contrast and sharpening her eyes and smile.

Full Body

ashleyolsen-amy3

For this image I stepped back so that I could get her full body. I also had her grab her dress to add a little more personality to the picture. I adjusted the brightness and contrast.

Two or More Candid

ashleyolsen-candid

The lightening in this picture isn’t the best. I took it right after sunset so it was dark and I had to use my flash. I had my friends talk and laugh to make it candid. I then adjusted the brightness and contrast so that it was lighter and more in focus.

Two or More Posing

ashleyolsen-couple

For this picture I had my friend and her boyfriend pose in front of the library. They were super easy to position and I love how it turned out. I actually hardly edited this picture. I just adjusted the contrast a little to make the colors stand out more.

Environment

ashleyolsen-enviornment

This is my friend Kendal in her natural environment aka being a student. I had her positioned in her office at work. I edited it by adjusting the brightness, contrast and levels.

Enhancements

ashleyolsen-treverafter

ashleyolsen-treverbefore

For this picture I had my husband pose in front of the trees by my apartment. I then edited it by adjusting the brightness and contrast. I also sharpened his eyes and mouth. The biggest change is I used the clone brush to fixed one of this his teeth to make them more straight and even.

Match Color

ashleyolsen-amycolor

ashleyolsen-amybefore ashleyolsen-amycolororiginal

I used two similar pictures for the color match. I liked the way her head was positioned better in the darker picture so I used the lighter picture to color match the darker picture. I then adjusted the brightness and contrast a little bit.

Replace Color

ashleyolsen-replacecolor

ashleyolsen-replacecolorbefore

For the replace color, I changed the color of my sister’s beanie. I wanted it to be a darker red but the lighter pink/red looks good too. After I changed the color I adjusted the brightness and contrast.

 

 

One thought on “Portraits

Leave a Reply

