5 Tips To Help You Up Your Photography Game

Photography is something that I have always been interested in. When I was a little girl, I remember admiring those who took great pictures as well as those who had them in their homes. My mom was very good at taking pictures of us when we were little and I would spend hours going through the photo albums looking at the pictures and remembering and laughing at the memories. I knew at a very young age that I would love being about to capture memories for others and I always had the dream in the back of my mind as I grew up.

It wasn’t until about six months ago when I was able to start pursuing my photography dream. I had to take a photography class for my major and through that class I learned the basics of photography and learned that I loved it more than I ever thought I would. The class was hard and challenging and there were some points when I wasn’t sure what I was doing. I will admit, there were times – and there are still times – where I get frustrated and discouraged.

Through these last few months I have been able to learn a lot more about photography, as well as learning more about myself. There have been many different things that have helped me as I learn to do photography and I would like to share five tips that I learned that helped me know more about photography, as well as keep the motivation and courage to keep going.

LEARN

1 – Learn all you can about photography through videos, bloggers, fellow photographers and books. I have been blessed with having a few fellow photographer mentors and it has made a world of difference in my learning and understanding.

FIGURE OUT WHAT YOU LIKE TO SHOOT

39B9BADE-2A15-4270-B999-541C9136C6D0

2  – I prefer to shoot portraits and food/product shots while others love doing landscapes and action shoots. It may take awhile to know what you like best but after you find what you enjoy, it makes it more fun and exciting, and makes you want to keep going.

LIGHT

3 – Use the light to your advantage. The light makes or breaks a photo so learn how to use it to help make your pictures look great. Let it help you!

 

DO COLLABORTIONS

Morgan (23 of 91).jpg

IMG_3547

4 – Reach out and do collaborations with other photographers and creatives. This is something that really scared me but it has made me 10x better, 10x faster just because I reached out to others and did shoots with them. I have found that you can learn so much from a more experienced photographer just by watching them.

SHOOT EVERYDAY

5 – This doesn’t mean you have to have a shoot set up every day but it’s more for your mind to help you get in the mindset of figuring out different locations, poses, lighting and even just knowledge that will help you overall. You can even take pictures with your phone some days.

I still have a lot to learn about photography but I have really enjoyed my journey so far. It’s fun to look back and see where I started and compare it to where I am now. If you dream it and put your mind to it, you can achieve it!